Twas the Thursday before Christmas

And frankly I’m all tuckered out. It’s been a long year and I share Charlie Brooker’s view of 2011. I’m only hoping that the season opener doesn’t involve North Korea in any dramatic way whatsoever. Because there’s only one way to write that episode.

For a little recuperation I’m going to pop myself off the grid for a week or so and read some books and maybe even do some offline writing myself. Its lovely and summery here in Christchurch and I’m  looking forward to recharging the batteries in the sunshine. As a final round-up take a look at Robert McCrum’s 50 things he’s learned about the literary life.

Its been a really interesting experience writing this blog these past few months and I’d like to thank you for reading it. I hope some of what I’ve written has been useful or interesting to you. For me, the act of writing has been enormously useful in itself and is certainly helping me shape my thinking better.  While I don’t think I’m quite there with this blog yet, I’ve learned a lot and I’ve been inspired by paying really close attention to the wealth of interesting thinking across the book world this year. So I’ll be pondering how to improve things over the holidays and I’m keen to make it way better in 2012. And I have no doubt that 2012 will, for the book world at least, be no less eventful.

Take it steady, enjoy the holidays and see you in a few days.

One thought on “Twas the Thursday before Christmas

Leave a Reply

