How can a person get paid for being brilliant?

Excellent article from the neuroscientist and philosopher, Sam Harris. I’ve been following his work since hearing him on the radio a few months back. This piece on the future of the book hits the mark on a number of levels, and again brings up the potential (and difficulties, let’s be fair) of longform digital publishing. Principally he’s worried (rightly) about how good writing will be paid for:

I love physical books as much as anyone. And when I really want to get a book into my brain, I now purchase both the hardcover and electronic editions. From the point of view of the publishing industry, I am the perfect customer. This also makes me a very important canary in the coal mine—and I’m here to report that I’ve begun to feel woozy.

The post interviewing Steven Pinker is also well worth a read.

Leave a Reply

